Sidelined and “What is PBL?”

I have some weird stomach cramp thing, so I did not go to school today. I decided I should still do something, so I mocked up my “What is PBL?” project plan. I’m satisfied with it at this point. But, I’d appreciate any feedback.

What is PBL?

It’s not a ridiculous amount of flipped material, due to the fact that it’s only the second week of school with freshmen. I figure I should ease them into it. But the process paper will allow them to truly reflect and understand the difference between a traditional project and a Project-Based Learning project.

Their spring project will be much more flipped!

Tomorrow, I am going to try and come in to school to get things done regarding my two other units.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (2)
  1. Hi! I’m sure I’ll learn more during the PBL class in the next few weeks but, is this something that you would hand out at the beginning of each project/unit? Is this project only 3 days or is there more other than the timeline listed?

  2. Hey Kate,

    Great question. The project lasts about a month on an A/B block rotation.

    I do not hand this out to the students. We conduct an opening event, which is actually the first class for PBLU (http://www.pblu.org/), and a checklist of required tasks to be completed.

    In the past I dictated deadlines for each task, but this time I will allow them to choose what to finish at their own pace.

Leave a Reply

