Driving really does provide the best setting for thought

                                                                                                       Photo by Anthony Willett

I was driving to school today and thinking about my plans for the next few weeks.

I am taking the JEA CJE test on July 11th, which means studying a ridiculous amount about court rulings regarding the 1st Amendment and understanding the statistical evidence that is reflected in student achievement after participating in a journalism course. It’s quite an undertaking.

While I was driving, I was still thinking about what my classroom will look like next year. How exactly do I implement the “Flip” model in my classroom? How do I make it work for my students?

So, I think there are a few things I’m settled on . . .

1. I will utilize Edmodo as the hub of my classroom. MentorMob and Collaborize Classroom will be the portals in which I foster content and discussion outside of the classroom.

2. Socrative will be my initial assessment at the start of each class to check for understanding.

3. My focus for my classroom will revolve around collaborative activity and in-depth discussion. I will also use this time to mediate as needed, or reteach concepts with small groups that require additional support.

4. I will use a standards-based grading practice that allows for multiple opportunities to show revision. A 75% is required to continue past any specific concept/standard.

5. My units, based on the CCSS, will offer Project-Based Learning inquiry opportunities that encourage student-chosen assessment opportunities that target their creative interests, while still focusing on the content/performance task.

I still have things to learn and think about.

It will probably take me a couple more drives in my Jeep to find a comfortable ground where I can start putting pen to paper.

  • Trackback are closed
  • Comments (1)
  1. I just watched a webinar today on Collaborize Classroom and see al of the possibilities it has for the LA flipped class (I actually just did a whole blog post on it a few minutes ago). I’m going to look into MentorMob. I also have created playlists on Sophia.org, but I’m looking into it further as something I MAY use in my class, but I;m not entirely sure.

    I really want to use socrative, but cell phones are collected at the beginning of each day and returned at the end due to some student fight videos being recorded at school and uploaded to youtube :{

    My content is also going to be largely centered on the CCSS with some other concepts that I see my students need.

    Can’t wait to see what else you come up with!

Leave a Reply

